Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Indiana » Gibson County

Gibson County

Gibson County is named for John Gibson, who was an officer in the French and Indian War and the American Revolutionary War, and he served as Secretary of the Indiana Territory.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Knox County and Pike County

E – Pike County and Warwick County

S – Warrick CountyVanderburgh County and Posey County

W – Wabash County, Illinois


Created:  March 9, 1813                                                             Map of Indiana highlighting Gibson County

County Seat:

Princeton  1813 – present


County Courthouse – Princeton 


Location:  101 North Main Street / West Broadway Street

Built:  1883 – 1885

Style:  County Capitol and Romanesque Revival

Architect:  Harry, Roy and Kenneth McDonald of Louisville, Kentucky

Contractor:  Joseph G Miller


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and limestone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Princeton. The building has a raised basement. The east front has stone work on either side of the entrance with two arched windows on the second story and a wide stone header at the roof line. At each corner of the building are small towers with peaked roofs. On the center of the roof is a tall clock tower with open center section. In the interior there is black walnut and oak trim and mosaic tile floors. The second story hall has a walnut base and beaded vertical walnut wainscot with plaster walls. Doors and frames are high with transoms and are constructed from Black Walnut.The courtroom is located on the second story. Original walnut paneled doors and brass hardware lead from the courtroom to the Judge’s chamber. Plaster crown mold, ceiling, and walls remain.Back-to-back fireplaces exist between the courtroom and Judge’s chamber. The building houses the County Circuit Court and the County Superior Court of the 26th Judicial District. 


See:  The architect H P McDonald and Brothers of Louisville, Kentucky. The architect, Harry, Kenneth and Roy McDonald of Louisville, Kentucky, designed the courthouse in Washington County. The courthouse is similar to the courthouse in Johnson County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Gibson County Courthouse


See:  The 26th Judicial District includes Posey CountyVanderburgh County and Warrick County.


History:  The county was created in 1813 and Princeton was selected as the county seat. The first court met at the home of Judge William Harrington. The first courthouse was a two story brick structure built in 1814 to 1815. The second courthouse was a brick structure designed by Edward Coleman and built by Alfred Poland in 1843 at a cost of $9,000. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1883 to 1885 at a cost of $188,661.



County Courthouse – Princeton















Photos taken 2008