Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Indiana » Warrick County

Warrick County

Warrick County is named for Jacob Warrick, who was an Indiana militia company commander killed in the Battle of Tippecanoe in 1811.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Gibson County, Pike County and Dubois County

E – Spencer County

S – Daviess County, Kentucky and Henderson County, Kentucky

W – Vanderburgh County and Gibson County


Created:  March 9, 1813                                                             Map of Indiana highlighting Warrick County

County Seat: 

Evansville  1814

Darlington  1814 – 1818

Boonville   1818 – present


County Courthouse – Boonville


Location:  One Courthouse Square / West Locust Street

Built:  1904

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  William J Harris & Clifford Shopbell of Evansville

Contractor:  Howard Brothers


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Boonville. The building was constructed of yellow Huntingburg brick with Bedford limestone trim. The building has a raised basement of limestone which is smooth but rustcated by narrow scoring. There are four nearly identical facades. The east front has a large portico supported by four large columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. Above the recessed entrance is a small balcony with large arched window above. Inverted brick quoins frame corner pavilions. On the center of the roof is a large square dome with clock and small cupola at the top. The roof is hipped. The building was renovated in 1996. The architect was Adicon Inc. and the contractor was Dooley and Mack.


County Judicial Center – Boonville



Location:  One Courthouse Square /  North 3rd Street

Built:  1997 – 1999

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Edmund L Hafner & Associates of Evansville

Contractor:  Peyronnin Construction Company of Evansville


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story light red colored brick and concrete structure. The east front has three brick pillars with glass entrances between. A horizontal band runs between the first and second stories and below the roof line. The roof is hipped. In the interior are four courtrooms. The building houses the County Circuit Court and the County Superior Court of the 26th Judicial District.


See:  The 26th Judicial District includes Gibson CountyPosey County and Vanderburgh County.


History:  The county was created in 1813 and Evansville was selected as the county seat in 1814. The county seat was moved to Darlington in 1814. In 1818, the county seat was moved to Boonville. The first courthouse was a log structure erected in 1820 on the Public Square. The second courthouse was a frame structure built in 1838. The third courthouse was a red colored two story brick structure built by James Pulham in 1849 to 1851. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1904 at a cost of $75,000. The County Judicial Center was constructed in 1997 to 1999.



County Courthouse – Boonville













County Judicial Center – Boonville

Photos taken 2008