Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Indiana » Rush County

Rush County

Rush County is named for Benjamin Rush, who was a doctor and a signer of the Declaration of Independence.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Hancock County and Henry County

E – Fayette County and Franklin County

S – Decatur County

W – Shelby County and Hancock County


Created:  December 31, 1821                                                    Map of Indiana highlighting Rush County

County Seat: 

Rushville  1822 – present


County Courthouse – Rushville 


Location:  101 East 2nd Street / North Main Street

Built:  1896 – 1898

Style:  Richardsonian Romanesque

Architect:  A William and Edwin A Rush of Grand Rapids, Michigan

Contractor:  P H McCormack & Son of Columbus


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story gray colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Rushville. On the each corner of the building is a large square stone tower with steep red roof. The center sections have arched entrances on the first story and rise to a peaked roof. On the center of the roof is a large square stone clock tower with peaked red colored roof. In the interior are marble wainscoting and plasters, and the floors are Venetian Mosaic. The walls are stone and the floors and ceilings are hollow file, flat arch construction. There are two large stained glass windows that are located on the third story. One of the windows presents the largest rendering by the state seal in existence. Much of the original quartered oak furniture and light fixtures are still intact. The coutroom is located on the west side of the third story. The building houses the County Circuit Court and County Superior Court of the 18th Judicial District. 


See:  The architect, A William  and Edwin A Rush of Grand Rapids, Michigan designed courthouses in Fulton County and Pulaski County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Rush County Courthouse


See:  The 18th Judicial District includes Fayette CountyFranklin CountyUnion County and Wayne County.


History:  The county was created in 1821 and Rushville was selected as the county seat in 1822. The court first met at the residences of Stephen Sims and Robert Thompson, The first courthouse was built by Reynold Cory in 1826 at a cost of $2,500. The second courthouse was designed and built by John Elder in 1846 to 1848 at a cost of $12,000. The third and present courthouse was constructed at a cost of $257,385.



County Courthouse – Rushville 



















Photos taken 2008