Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Indiana » Hancock County

Hancock County

Hancock County is named for John Hancock, who was a signer of the Declaration of Independence and who lived from 1737 to 1793.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Hamilton County and Madison County

E – Henry County and Rush County

S – Shelby County

W – Marion County


Created:  January 26,1827                                                         Map of Indiana highlighting Hancock County

County Seat: 

Greenfield  1828 – present


County Courthouse – Greenfield  


Location:  9 East Main Street / South State Street

Built:  1896 – 1897

Style:  Romanesque Revival and Tudor Gothic Revival

Architect:  Wing & Mahurin of Fort Wayne

Contractor:  Geake, Henry & Greene of Fort Wayne.


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story buff colored stone structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Greenfield. The building has a raised basement. The center section is recessed with a large stone arch framing the entrance on the first story. On the center of the roof is a high square clock tower with turrets and steep red colored roof at the top. In the interior there are divided staircases ascending to the second story. The hallways and ceiling are decorated with motifs. The building houses the County Circuit Court and County Superior Court of the 17th Judicial District. To the east is the Old County Jail (1871) and to the southeast is the County Court Annex.


See:  The architect, Mahurin & Mahurin ( Wing ) of Fort Wayne also designed courthouses in DeKalb County, LaPorte County, Monroe County and Starke County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Greenfield Courthouse Square


See:  The 17th Judicial District includes Johnson County and Shelby County.


History:  The county was created in 1827 and Greenfield was designated in 1828. The first court met at the home of Samuel Jackson. The first courthouse was a two story log structure built by Jared Chapman in 1829 at a cost of $195. The second courthouse was built by John Hays in 1834 at a cost of $3,000. Wings were constructed by Nathan Crawford in 1845. The third courthouse was designed by Edwin May and built by Nathan Crawford in 1856 at a cost of $14,400. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1896 to 1898.


County Courthouse Annex – Greenfield  



Location:  111 American Legion Place / East South Street

Built:  2002 – 2004

Style:  Modern

Architect:  DLZ Indiana, LLC

Contractor:  MacDougall Pierce Construction Inc.


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Greenfield. The west front has a semicircular portico supported by four columns with balcony on the second story. The roof line is flat.



County Courthouse – Greenfield



















Statue of James Whitcomb Riley



County Courthouse Annex – Greenfield





Old County Jail – Greenfield

Photos taken 2008