Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Indiana » Henry County

Henry County

Henry County is named for Patrick Henry, who was a Governor of Virgin.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Delaware County

E – Randolph County and Wayne County

S – Fayette County and Rush County

W – Hancock County and Madison County


Created:  December 31, 1821                                                    Map of Indiana highlighting Henry County

County Seat: 

New Castle   1822 – present


County Courthouse – New Castle   


Location:  101 South Main Street / Broad Street

Built:  1865 – 1869

Style:  Italianate

Architect:  Isaac Hodgson of Indianapolis

Contractor:  Morris F Edwards (superintendent) and Henry County workmen


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of New Castle. The east front has a three story clock tower with steep roof and platform at the top. On the front is a niche with a large Statue of Justice. A wide cornice follows the roof line with two small peaked roofs. The roof is hipped. In the interior are black and white colored diamond patterns on the floor and marble wainscoting. At the head of the staircase on the second story is the entrance to the courtroom which occupies over half the floor space.  The courtroom has wooden wainscoting and the original judge’s bench. There are Corinthian columns decorated with acanthus leaves, which sit atop fluted shafts. The columns support an entablature of dentils and modillions and flank a small alcove. The architect was Isaac Hodgson of Indianapolis and the contractor was Henry County workmen. An addition was added in 1904 to 1905. The contractor was Patrick H McCormack and Company. On the south side is the County Justice Center.


See:  The architect, Isaac Hodgson of Indianapolis also designed courthouses in Bartholomew CountyJennings County and Morgan County.


See:  National Registerv of Historic Places – Henry County Courthouse


County Justice Center – New Castle   



Location:  1215 Race Street / South Main Street

Built:  1992 – 1994

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on the south side of the courthouse. The north front has a recessed central entrance with two columns. On the third story is a large arched window with peaked roof above. The building houses the County Circuit Court and the County Superior Court of the 15th Judicial District.


See:  The 15th Judicial District includes Blackford County, Delaware CountyJay County and Randolph County.


History:  The county was created in 1821 and New Castle was selected as the county seat in 1822. The first courthouse was a two story log structure built by George Barnard in 1823 to 1824 at a cost of $247. The second courthouse was a brick structure designed by Robert Murphy and built by Nathan Crawford in 1832 to 1836 at a cost of $4,500. The courthouse was burned in 1864 and the county moved into Murphy Hall. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1865 to 1869 at a cost of $20,000. An annex was added in 1905 at a cost of $44,000. The County Justice Center was constructed in 1992 to 1994.



County Courthouse – New Castle

















County Justice Center – New Castle





Photos taken 2008