Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Indiana » Fulton County

Fulton County

Fulton County is named for Robert Fulton, who was the inventor of the first successful steamboat, and who lived from 1765 to 1815.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Marshall County 

E – Kosciusko County, Wasbash County and Miami County

S – Miami County and Cass County

W – Pulaski County


Created:  February 7, 1835                                                        Map of Indiana highlighting Fulton County

County Seat: 

Rochester 1836 – present


County Courthouse – Rochester 


Location:  815 Main Street / East 8th Street

Built:  1896

Style:  Richardsonian Romanesque

Architect:  A William  and Edwin A Rush of Grand Rapids, Michigan

Contractor:  Jordan E Gibson of Logansport.


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story light gray colored stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Rochester. The west front has a large arch at the entrance with three arched windows above and stone turrets on either side of the center section. There are four peaks with a central stone tower rising from the center of the building featuring a clock and steep red colored roof. In the interior, double-wide stairs rise from the west entrance to the middle level, and then from the crossing to a landing where the stairs split to the upper level. The stairs consist of Italian marble treads and decorative cast iron ornamental risers and ends. Ornamental wrought iron balusters and square newels with peaked caps, and quarter sawn white wood handrails complete the original stair. The floors in the main corridor and middle level offices are terrazzo tiles with Greek key pattern edging. The courtroom is located on the third story. The Circuit Court room does have the original wood flat panel oak wainscoting. Rush’s original plans specified one courtroom, the Circuit Court. Since 1896, the courtroom has been divided. Only parts of two walls (north and east) are original. There is an arch and door wall at the end of the room. The building houses the County Circuit Court and County Superior Court of the 8th Judicial District. The building was renovated in 2001 to 2002. The architect was Schmidt Associates Inc. of Indianapolis and the contractor was H G Christman Construction Company of South Bend. On the south side of the building is the County Office Building.


See:  The architect, A William  Rush and Edwin A Rush of Grand Rapids, Michigan designed courthouses in Pulaski County and Rush County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Fulton County Courthouse


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Cass CountyHoward County and Miami County.


History:  The county was created in 1835 and Rochester was selected as the county seat in 1836. The first courthouse was a two story log structure erected by Ebenezer Ward in 1837 at a cost of $747. The second courthouse was a brick structure designed by Joseph Miles and built by Henry Kent in 1846 to 1847 at a cost of $6,000. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1896 at a cost of $150,000.



County Courthouse – Rochester

















County Office Building – Rochester



Photos taken 2006 and 2011