Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Indiana » Kosciusko County

Kosciusko County

Kosciusko County is named for Tadeusz Kosciuszko, who was a Polish general and who served in the American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Elkhart County 

E – Noble County and Whitley County

S – Wabash County and Fulton County

W – Fulton County and Marshall County


Created:  February 7, 1835                                                        Map of Indiana highlighting Kosciusko County

County Seat: 

Leesberg   1835 – 1837

Warsaw     1837 – present


County Courthouse – Warsaw  


Location:  100 West Center Street / North Lake Street

Built:  1882 – 1884

Style:  Victorian Eclectic

Architect:  Thomas J Tolan and Brentwood S Tolan of Fort Wayne

Contractor:  Hiram Iddings


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story limestone structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Warsaw. The building has a raised basement of thick rusicated ashlar walls with deep round and segmental-arched window openings. The center of the south front projects from the main building and has an arched entrance on the first story. On the second story is a portico with arched window and pediment above. The ornate limestone façade is highly articulated with decorative scrolls, garlands and classical columns. Above is a mansard roof with large dormer windows. The east and west wings also extend forward. On the center of the roof rises an octagonal dome with silver colored roof and clock. In the interior features woodwork, fireplaces, marble tile floors and a grand courtroom. To the east is the Old County Jail and on the west side is the County Justice Building.


Note:  During construction of the courthouse, Joe Baker was the superintendent of construction. The tower was built by Joseph Marshall and all of the interior work was done by G Hahne.


See:  The architect,  Brentwood S Tolan of Fort Wayne also designed courthouses in Allen CountyLaGrange CountyLaPorte CountyParke County and Whitley County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Warsaw Courthouse Square Historic District


County Justice Building – Warsaw  



Location:  121 North Lake Street / Center Street

Built:  1980 – 1982

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Cain Associates

Contractor:  Wright Construction


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Warsaw on the west side of the courthouse. The east front has a high framed central entrance. The windows on the east side are recessed and the roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court and the County Superior Court of the 5th Judicial District.


See:  The 5th Judicial District includes Elkhart County and Marshall County.


History:  The county was created in 1835 and Leesberg was selected as the county seat in 1836. The county seat was established at Warsaw in 1837 and the court met at the home of Jacob Lozier. The first courthouse was erected in 1837 and burned in the same year. The second courthouse was a two story wood house built in 1837. The third courthouse was a two story brick structure built in 1847 to 1848 at a cost of $4,500. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1882 to 1884 at a cost of $197,800. The County Justice Center was constructed in 1980 to 1982.



County Courthouse – Warsaw















County Justice Building – Warsaw

Photos taken 2008