Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Indiana » Miami County

Miami County

Miami County is named for the Miami Native American tribe who resided in the area.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Fulton County

E – Wasbash County and Grant County

S – Howard County

W – Cass County and Fulton County


Created:  February 2, 1832                                                        Map of Indiana highlighting Miami County

County Seat: 

Miamisport  1832 – 1835

Peru            1835 – present


County Courthouse – Peru


Location:  25 North Broadway / East Main Street

Built:  1908 – 1910

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Lehman & Schmitt of Cleveland, Ohio

Contractor:  P H McCormack & Company of Columbus.


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a three story buff colored stone and concrete structure. The central portico has four large columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story. Above is a pediment with clock and rising above the roof line. The second story windows are arched. A protruding cornice runs below the roof line. On the center of the roof is a large low dome with skylight. In the interior, throughout the building, floors are inlaid with buff, pink and red colored Tennessee marble; the exception is wood flooring in the two third story courtrooms and law library. Base molding is white colored marble. On all three floors, walls in the central rotunda are faced with ashlar cut limestone block, ceilings are coffered, and limestone door surrounds. On the third story is the Circuit Court with plaster walls and a white colored, ornamental coffered ceiling featuring square panels and relief work columns entwined with ribbon. Recessed panels in the west wall mirror the east wall’s fenestration. A paneled wood wainscot surrounds the room. The judge’s mahogany bench and back drop is adorned with egg and dart molding, carved acanthus leaves, swags, and other classically derived motifs. A burgundy velvet curtain drapes the back drop. The Superior Court courtroom is similar with identical wainscot, doors and door surround, mahogany judge’s bench and back drop. Differences include the rear wall of three recessed panels; retention of four original suspended brass light fixtures (supplemented by fluorescent lights); division rail with turned newel posts and finial-like turned caps; coffered ceiling whose design is highlighted by different paint colors; and public seating provided by eight oak benches, four on each side of a center aisle. The building houses the County Circuit Court and the County Superior Court of the 8th Judicial District.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Miami County Courthouse


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Cass CountyFulton County and Howard County.


History:  The county was created in 1832 and Miamisport was selected as the county seat. The county seat was moved to Peru in 1835. The first courthouse was a brick structure on the public square in 1843. The courthouse was destroyed by fire on March 16, 1843. The second courthouse was built in 1844 and a recorder’s office built in 1848. The third courthouse was Norman castle structure designed by Issac Hodgson and constructed by Nathan Crawford in 1856 to 1858. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1908 to 1910.



County Courthouse – Peru











Photos taken 2008