Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Missouri » Audrain County

Audrain County

Audrain County is named for James H Audrain, who was a Missouri state legislator.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Monroe County and Ralls County

E – Pike County and Montgomery County

S – Montgomery County and Callaway County 

W – Boone County and Randolph County


Created:  December 17, 1836                Map of Missouri highlighting Audrain County

County Seat:

Mexico  1836 – present


County Courthouse –  Mexico  


Location:  101 North Jefferson Street / Jackson Street

Built:  1950 – 1951

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Bonsack and Pearce of St. Louis

Contractor:  John Epple and Sons of Columbia


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The square shaped building is located on landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Mexico. The front has a projecting center section with vertical stone corners and framing the entrance. The base of the building is cement. The back section extends out from the main building. Horizontal white colored bands run above the second story windows and along the roof line. In the interior is a three story octagonal rotunda which is lined with balconies and lit by a large glass skylight. There are terrazzo floors, marble wainscoting and wood trim. The Circuit Court courtoom is located on the north side of the second story and has wood wainscoting around the perimeter walls. The original courtroom on the north side of the third story is now the Commissioner’s Chamber. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 12th Judicial Circuit. 


See:  The architect, Fred C Bonsack and Harvey J Pearce of St. Louis also designed the courthouse in Dade County, Franklin County and St. Francois County.


Note:  National Register of Historic Places – Audrain County Courthouse


See:  The 12th Judicial Circuit includes Audrain CountyMontgomery County and  Warren County.


History:  The county was created in 1836 and Mexico was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a one story hewn log structure built in 1837. The second courthouse was a two story brick structure built by Norvell Harison on the public square at a cost of $1,600 in 1838 to 1840 with William White as the superintendent, later replaced by M. Walton and the brick work was completed by Judge James E Fenton. The third courthouse was a two story brick structure built in 1868 to 1869 at a cost of $43,000 by Terrell and Hays of Macon City with John M Gordon as superintendent, who was later replaced by E P Cunningham. The building was modeled after the courthouse in Monroe County. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1950 to 1951 at a cost of $527,300.



County Courthouse – Mexico















Picture 1869 Courthouse

Photos taken 2005 and 2009