Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Missouri » Montgomery County

Montgomery County

Montgomery County is named for Richard Montgomery, who was a United States general killed in the American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Audrain County and Pike County 

E – Lincoln County and Warren County

S – Gasconade County

W – Callaway County and Audrain County


Created:  December 14, 1818                Map of Missouri highlighting Montgomery County

County Seat:

Pinckney               1819 – 1824

Lewiston                1824 – 1834

Danville                 1834 – 1889

Montgomert City    1889 – present


County Courthouse – Montgomery City


Location:  211 East 3rd Street / Wentz Street

Built:  1953 – 1955

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Ernest T Friton

Contractor:  Brockmeyer Construction Company of St. Louis


Description: The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick, glass and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Montgomery City. The south front has vertical divisions between the entrances and windows. The center section projects from the main building and has vertical concrete dividers with windows between. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 12th Judicial Circuit. 


See:  The 12th Judicial District covers Audrain County, Montgomery County and Warren County.


History:  The county was created in 1818 and Pinckney was selected as the county seat. The county offices rented a house. The county seat was moved to Lewiston in 1824 and the first courthouse was a log structure built in 1824 by Charles Allen. The county seat was moved to Danville in 1834 and the second courthouse was a brick structure built in 1834. The courthouse was razed and the third courthouse was designed by Gustave Bachman and built by James Getty of St. Louis in 1865 to 1867 at a cost of $27,700. The building burned on April 12, 1901 after the county seat was moved to Montgomery City in 1889. The fourth courthouse was a brick structure built by R A Sharp, C P Evered, John Evered and August Stanhardt in 1889 at a cost of $20,000. The fifth and present courthouse was constructed in 1953 to 1955 at a cost of $400,000.



County Courthouse – Montgomery City













Cornerstone 1889 County Courthouse





Photos taken 2009