Skip to content
Home » US States » N » Nebraska » Grant County

Grant County


Grant County is named for Ulysses Simpson Grant, who was the eighteenth President of the United States of America and an American Civil War general.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Cherry County

E – Hooker County

S – Arthur County

W – Garden County and Sheridan County


Created:  March 31, 1887                       Map of Nebraska highlighting Grant County

County Seat:

Hyannis  1887 – present


County Courthouse – Hyannis  


Location:  105 East Harrison Street / Grant Avenue

Built:  1957 – 1958

Style:  Utilitarian

Architect:  Thomas, Benjamin and Clayton

Contractor: James E Simon Contractors of Scottsbluff.


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Hyannis. The south front has the entrance in the center with high horizontal windows on the second story. There is a mural of a cow. The third story has green-blue painted concrete with a projecting concrete trim surrounding the area with windows. The first story descends north down a slope. The roof line is flat. The County District Court courtroom is located on the third story. The building houses the District Court and County Court of the 12th Judicial District.


See:  The architect, Thomas, Benjamin and Clayton also designed the courthouse in Arthur County.


History:  The county was created in 1887 and Whitman was designated as the county seat. In the same year, Hyannis petitioned to become the county seat and won. The county used rented premises until the first courthouse, a two story frame structure was built by I B Daggett in 1907. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1957 to 1958.



County Courthouse – Hyannis











Photos taken 2006 and 2010