Skip to content
Home » US States » N » Nebraska » Sheridan County

Sheridan County

Sheridan County is named for Philip H Sheridan ( 1831-1888 ), a noted general of the Civil War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Shannon County, South Dakota

E – Cherry County and Grant County

S –  Garden County

W –  Box Butte County and Dawes County


Created:  February 25, 1885

County Seat:

Rushville  1888 – present


County Courthouse – Rushville  


Location:  301 East 2nd Street / Sprague Street

Built:  1901 – 1904

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  W T Misner

Contractor:  S C Reck


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story dark red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Rushville. The building is “L” shaped and there is a low rock-faced Hot Springs sandstone raised basement and limited attic space in the gabled front-facing wing. Red colored brick (Alliance Red) is laid in six rows of common bond, then one row of headers. In the center is a small square tower which rises to the third story above the entrance. On the east side of the north front of the building, that portion rises to a peak at the attic. Smooth stone sills are also of uncomplicated design. In the interior, the centered entry vestibule opens onto the bend of an “L” shaped hallway and also faces stairs leading to the second story. A secondary or back entrance on the south facade is tucked beyond the staircase. The rather simple woodwork in halls that has been painted. High baseboards, turned balusters, a squared newel, and swinging vestibule double doors with glass lights and small panels are among the original features. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the District Court and County Court of the 12th Judicial District. The architect was W T Misner and the contractor was S C Reck. On the south side is the one story red colored brick County Jail built in 1928.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Sheridan County Courthouse


See:  The courthouse is a similar style to the courthouse in Cherry County.


See:  The 12th Judicial District includes Banner CountyBox Butte CountyCheyenne County, Dawes CountyDeuel County, Garden CountyGrant County, Kimball County, Morrill CountyScotts Bluff County and Sioux County.


History:  The county was created in 1885 and Rushville was selected as the county seat in 1888 when the county was organized. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1901 to 1904 at a cost of $17,325.



County Courthouse – Rushville











Photos taken 2007