Skip to content
Home » US States » N » New York » Lewis County

Lewis County

Lewis County is named for Morgan Lewis, who was the fourth Governor of New York.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Saint Lawrence County

E – Herkimer County

S – Oneida County

W – Oswego County and Jefferson County


Created:  March 28, 1805                       Map of New York highlighting Lewis County

County Seat:

Martinsburg  1805 – 1864

Lowville        1864 – present


County Courthouse – Lowville


Location:  7660 North State Street / Trinity Avenue

Built:  1852 – 1853

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  Hiram S Lanpher

Contractor:  Hiram S Lanpher


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a three story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Lowville. The southwest front has a large portico with four white colored columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The building is rectangular and has a flat roof line. An addition was added in 1875. A fire in 1947 destroyed the building. In 1948, the building was rebuilt adding a third story. The architect was Thomas P Phillips and the contractor was Wager Brothers Inc. An addition was constructed on the northeast side in 2007 to 2008. The building is a two story red colored brick, glass and concrete square shaped structure. The roof line is flat. In the interior are two County Supreme Court courtrooms. The architect was Ashley McGraw Architects and the contractor was Charles A Gaetano Construction. On the north side is the two story red colored brick Clerk’s Office.


Note:  The present courthouse served as the Town Hall from 1852 to 1855 and was built at a cost of $6,000.


See:  The 5th Judicial District is located at 600 State Street in Syracuse and includes Herkimer County, Jefferson CountyOneida CountyOnondaga County and Oswego County.  


Old County Courthouse – Martinsburg



Location:  Highway 26 / Whitaker Road

Built:  1810 – 1812

Style:  Federal and Italianate

Architect:  General Walter Martin

Contractor:  General Walter Martin


Description:  The building faces west and  is a two story white colored wood frame structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Martinsburg. and has a hipped roof. The center front portion was added at a later date. The old courtroom is located on the second story. The building now houses the town offices. The building is named as the Martinsburg Town Hall.


Note:  The cost of construction was $1500 and the commissioners overseeing the building were Benjamin Van Vleck, Daniel Kelley and Jonathan Collins. Most of the town’s residence were out of the town when a surprise vote was held to move the county seat to Lowville. The outside outhouses still remain behind the building.


History:  The county was created in 1805 and Martinsburg was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built 1n 1810 to 1812 and is still standing. In 1864, the county seat was moved to Lowville. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1852 to 1853 as a Town Hall at a cost of $6,000 and occupied as the courthouse in 1864. The courthouse was rebuilt in 1948 at a cost of $300,000. The modern addition was constructed in 2007 to 2008.




County Courthouse – Lowville











County Courthouse New Addition – Lowville







County Supreme Court courtroom









County Supreme Court courtroom







Old County Courthouse – Martinsburg









Former Courtroom



Photos taken 2010 and 2017