Skip to content
Home » US States » N » New York » Ontario County

Ontario County

Ontario County is named for an Iroquoian word meaning “beautiful lake”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Monroe County and Wayne County

E – Seneca County and Yates County

S – Yates County and Steuben County 

W – Livingston County


Created:  January 27, 1789                    Map of New York highlighting Ontario County

County Seat:

Canandaigua  1789 – present


County Courthouse – Canandaigua  


Location:  27 North Main Street / Ontario Street

Built:  1857 – 1858

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  Henry Searl of Rochester

Contractor:  Thomas Crawford of Geneva and Kelsey and Wells of Canandaigua


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete style structure. The southwest front has a large portico supported by four high white colored columns with pediment at the roof line. On the center of the roof is a large dome with small cupola and gold colored statue of the Goddess of Justice at the top. The two wings were added in 1908 and 1909.The building was renovated in 1988. The architect was Mendel, Mesick, Cohen, Waite & Hall of Albany and the contractor was Frank J Marinucci of Holcomb.


See:  The architect, Henry Searl of Rochester also designed the courthouse in Wayne County.


Note:  The cost of construction was $46,000.


Old County Courthouse – Canandaigua  



Location:  2 North Main Street / West Avenue

Built:  1824 – 1825

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a two story yellow colored brick  structure. The northeast front has a large portico supported by six white colored columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. Above is a square open cupola with green colored dome. The roof is hipped. The building served as the county courthouse until 1858 and now serves as the City Hall.


See:  The 7th Judicial District is located at 99 Exchange Boulevard in Rochester and includes Cayuga CountyLivingston CountyMonroe CountySeneca CountySteuben CountyWayne County and Yates County


History:  The previous courthouse was built in 1794.



County Courthouse – Canandaigua 



















Photos taken 2010