Skip to content
Home » US States » N » New York » Monroe County

Monroe County

Monroe County is named for James Monroe, who was the fifth President of the United States from 1817 to 1825.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Lake Ontario and Ontario, Canada

E – Wayne County

S – Ontario County and Livingston County

W – Genesee County and Orleans County


Created:  February 23, 1821                  Map of New York highlighting Monroe County

County Seat:

Rochester  1821 – present


Old County Courthouse – Rochester  


Location:  39 West Main Street / Fitzgerald Street

Built:  1894 – 1896

Style:  Italian Renaissance

Architect:  J Foster Warner

Contractor:  A Friederick & Son


Description:  The building faces north and is a four story gray colored New Hampshire granite and marble structure. The west front has three entrances with small iron balcony above. The windows are set in groups of two windows. On the fourth story are arched windows with small columns between with the unblinded wooden statue of “Justice” which was on the dome of the previous courthouse. The roof line is flat.


See:  The 7th Judicial District is located at 99 Exchange Boulevard in Rochester and includes Cayuga CountyLivingston CountyMonroe CountyOntario County, Seneca CountySteuben CountyWayne County and Yates County


County Courthouse – Rochester  



Location:  99 Exchange Boulevard / Court Street

Built:  1961 – 1964

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Ricci Greene Architects and SWBR Architects

Contractor:  Battle Construction Company of Inc. of Victor


Description:  The building faces east and is a six story glass and concrete structure. At the southeast corner is a circular glass entrance foyer. The main building is a square building with flat roof line. The building is named as the Hall of Justice. The building houses the Seventh Judicial District Administration.


History:  The county was created in 1821 and Rochester was selected as the  county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1822 at a cost 0f $6,700. The second courthouse was built in 1851 at a cost of $76,000. The third courthouse was constructed in 1894 to 1896 at a cost of $881,000. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 19861 to 1964.


Fourth Judicial Department – Rochester  



Location:  50 East Avenue / Chestnut Street

Built:  1895 – 1896

Style:  Commercial / Modern

Architect:  James G Cutler

Contractor:  James G Cutler


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The southeast corner has a projecting section with entrance on the first story with two columns and large glass arch. The windows are arched. The roof line is flat. The building is named as the M Dolores Denman Courthouse and houses the Fourth Judicial Department of the Appellate Court of the Supreme Court. The building was remodeled from 1997 to 1999. The architect was DeWolff Partnership Architects.


Note:  The building was formerly the Cutler Building which was designed and built by James G Cutler who built the structure for his business. Over the years, the building housed the offices of architect Claude Bragdon and the Rochester Boy Scouts.



Old County Courthouse – Rochester















County Courthouse – Rochester











Fourth Judicial Department – Rochester



Photos taken 2010 and 2014