Skip to content
Home » US States » N » New York » Ulster County

Ulster County

Ulster County is named for the Irish province of Ulster which was ten an earldom of the Duke of York and who was later King James II of England.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Greene County

E – Columbia County and Dutchess County

S – Orange County and Sullivan County

W – Sullivan County and Delaware County


Created:  November 1, 1683                  Map of New York highlighting Ulster County


County Seat:

Kingston  1683 – present


County Courthouse – Kingston  


Location:  285 Watt Street / Main Street

Built:  1817 – 1818

Style:  Georgian

Architect:  Jacob Ten Broeck, John Beekman and James Cockburn.

Contractor:  Jacob Ten Broeck, John Beekman and James Cockburn.


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story stone and wood structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Kingston. The east front has a slightly projecting center section with entrance on the first story and rising to a pediment at the roof line. On the center of the roof is an octagonal cupola with dome. The building houses the County Supreme Court of the 3rd Judicial District. An addition was constructed on the west side in 1897. The architect was Andrew F Mason of Kingston.


 Note:  The Act of April 12, 1816 constituted Jacob Ten Broeck, John Beekman and James Cockburn commissioners “to superintend the said buildings”, each of whom was to be paid two dollars and fifty cents for every days “actual attendance” upon the duties of his office,


Note:  The New York State Constitution was written in the previous courthouse rooms and adopted on April 20, 1777. The previous courthouse was built in 1773 and demolished in 1817.


See:  The 3rd Judicial District 3 is located at Castleton-On-Hudson and includes Albany CountyColumbia CountyGreene CountyRensselaer CountySchoharie County and Sullivan County.


County Courthouse – Kingston













County Courthouse Addition – Kingston





Photos taken 2014