Skip to content
Home » US States » N » North Carolina » Bertie County

Bertie County

Bertie County is named for James Bertie or Henry Bertie, who were two Lords Proprietor of colonial North Carolina.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Northampton County and Hertford County

E – Chowan County and Washington County

S – Martin County 

W – Halifax County and  Northampton County


Created:  August 2, 1722                       Map of North Carolina highlighting Bertie County

County Seat: 

St, Johns ( Herford County )  1722 – 1754

Wolfender                               1754 – 1766

Windsor                                  1766 – present


County Courthouse – Windsor  


Location:  106 Dundee Street / King Street

Built:  1887 – 1889

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  L Thrower

Contractor:  Theodore Ralph


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a two story light brown colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Windsor. The northeast front has a large portico with a large column on each side and two double columns in the center rising from the second story to the wide pediment with circular window at the roof line. The central entrance on the first story is arched. The second story has a large central window. On the roof is a hexagonal cupola with windows. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Superior Court and County District Court of the 6th Judicial District. An addition was added in 1906. The contractor was B F Smith Fireproof Construction Company. In 1941 the building was remodeled and another addition along the southwest side. The architect was George D Mizelle. Again in 1974 another addition was added which has a high white colored cupola with clock at the top. On the southwest side is the two story Courthouse Annex.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Bertie County Courthouse


See:  The 6th Judicial District includes Halifax CountyHertford County and Northampton County.


History:  The county was created in 1722 and St. Johns ( Hertford County ) was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was erected in 1724. The second courthouse was built at Wolfenden, two miles south of Windsor in 1754 when Hertford County was created and the county seat moved. In 1776. the county seat was moved to Windsor and the third courthouse was built in 1776. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1887 to 1889.



County Courthouse – Windsor













Commissioner Minutes





County Courthouse Annex – Windsor





Photos taken 2012