Skip to content
Home » US States » N » North Carolina » Northampton County

Northampton County

Northampton County is named for James Compton, who was the 5th Earl of Northampton and a British peer and politician.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Brunswick County, Virginia, Greensville County, Virginia and Southampton County, Virginia

E – Hertford County

S – Chowan County and Halifax County

W – Halifax County and Warren County


Created:  1741                                        Map of North Carolina highlighting Northampton County

County Seat: 

Jackson  1741 – present


County Courthouse – Jackson  


Location:  104 West Jefferson Street / Atherton Street

Built:  1858 – 1859

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  Henry King Burgwyn

Contractor:  Azaiah J Riggs of Goldsboro


Description:  The building faces south and is a one story red colored brick structure with elevated basement. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Jackson. The south front has high wide steps to the large portico on the second and third stories. There are four white colored columns that rise to a wide pediment. The north section extends east and west with a section extending north. On the north side is a three story red colored brick section. In the interior, the courtroom is located on the main story. The building houses the County Superior Court and County District Court of the 6th Judicial District. The supervisor was Samuel Calvert. The building was renovated in 1938 to 1939. The architect was A Mitchell Wooten and John J Rowland. The building was renovated in 1991. The architect was William Surley Vanis and the contractor was C D Williams Construction Company. The building was renovated in 2002 to 2003. The architect was Surapon Sujjanavich and the contractor was Mayhew Brothers, Inc. On the east side is the one story white colored brick County Commissioners’ Office.


Note:  The building had been painted white and in 2002, the paint was removed to show the original red colored brick.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Northampton County Courthouse


See:  The 6th Judicial District includes Bertie County Halifax County and Hertford County.


History: The county was created in 1741 and Jackson was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a brick structure erected in Jackson in 1742. The second courthouse was also a brick structure erected in 1825. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1858 to 1859 at a cost of $10,000.



County Courthouse – Jackson





















County Commissioners’ Office – Jackson

Photos taken 2012