Skip to content
Home » US States » N » North Carolina » Warren County

Warren County

Warren County is named for Joseph Warren, who was a patriot and a volunteer private who was mortally wounded at the Battle of Bunker Hill in 1775.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Mecklenburg County, Virginia and Brunswick County, Virginia

E – Northampton County and Halifax County 

S – Nash County and Franklin County

W – Vance County


Created:  1779                                        Map of North Carolina highlighting Warren County

County Seat: 

Warrenton  1779 – present


County Courthouse – Warrenton 


Location:  109 South Main Street / Macon Street

Built:  1906 – 1907

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Frank Pierce Milburn of Washington, DC

Contractor:  Phipps & Cooper of Newport News, Virginia


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Warrenton. The east front has a projecting center section with a central entrance with arched window on the second story. At the roof line is a pediment. The roof line is flat. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Superior Court and County District Court of the 9th Judicial District. An addition has been added on the north side. The building was renovated in 1991 and 1992. The architect was Gantt Huberman Architects of Charlotte.


See:  The architect Frank Pierce Milburn of Washington, DC.


See:  The 9th Judicial District includes Franklin CountyGranville CountyPerson County and Vance County.


History:  The county was created in 1779 and Warrenton was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was the Thomas Christmas house erected in Warrenton in 1764 and used as the courthouse from 1779 to 1783. The second Courthouse was erected in 1783. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1906 to 1907.



County Courthouse – Warrenton













Photos taken 2012