Skip to content
Home » US States » N » North Carolina » Franklin County

Franklin County

Franklin County is named for Benjamin Franklin, who was a signer of the Declaration of Independence and who lived from 1706 to 1790.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Vance County and Warren County

E – Halifax County and Nash County

S – Nash County, Johnston County and Wake County 

W – Wake County and Granville County


Created:  1779                                        Map of North Carolina highlighting Franklin County

County Seat: 

Louisburg  1779 – present


County Courthouse – Louisburg  


Location:  102 South Main Street / East Nash Street

Built:  1849 – 1850

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  Richard O Britton and Harry A Taylor

Contractor:  Richard O Britton and Harry A Taylor


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a two story red colored brick and wood structure. The building is locared on landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Louisburg. The northwest front has a wide portico with six white colored Roman Doric columns supporting a wide pediment at the roof line. The building extends southeast with extending wings forming a “T” shape. The northwest section has a hipped roof and the southeast section has a flat roof line. At the entrance is the original courthouse bell from 1850. In the interior, the courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Superior Court and County District Court of the 9th Judicial District. The building was remodeled in 1936 and 1937. The architect was M S Davis and the contractor was C A Ragland and W H Edens. In 1968, the building was enlarged and remodeled. The architect was Harry J Harles and the contractor was J M Thompson.


Note:  Local tradition holds that the first Confederate flag designed by Orren Randolph Smith of Franklin County was first raised over the courthouse square on March 18, 1861.


See:  The 9th Judicial District includes Granville CountyPerson CountyVance County and Warren County.


History: The county was created in 1779 and Louisburg was selected as the county seat. The first court met at the home of Benjamin Seawell in 1779. The first courthouse was a log structure erected on Main Street in Louisburg in 1781. The second and present courthouse was a brick structure erected in 1849 to 1850 at a cost of $4,059.



County Courthouse – Louisburg















Photos taken 2012