Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Virginia » Mecklenburg County

Mecklenburg County

Mecklenburg County is named for the German Princess Charlotte of Mecklenburg-Strelitz, who became queen consort of King George III of Great Britain and who lived from 1744 to 1818.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Lunenburg County

E – Brunswick County

S – Warren County, North Carolina, Vance County, North Carolina and Granville County, North Carolina

W – Halifax County and Charlotte County


Created:  May 26, 1764                          Map of Virginia highlighting Mecklenburg County

County Seat: 

Boydton  1764 – present


County Courthouse – Boydton  


Location:  SW – Washington Street / Madison Street

Built:  1834 – 1842

Style:  Roman Revival

Architect:  William A Howard and James Whitice.

Contractor:  William A Howard and James Whitice.


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story white colored brick and wood structure. The east front has a large portico across the front with six columns rising to a wide pediment at the roof line. The roof is hipped. An addition was constructed in 1950 on the west side.


Note:  The cost of construction of the courthouse was $8000.


See:  Thomas Jefferson designed the Roman Temple style of courthouse. Prominent among the courthouse builders who had worked at the University of Virginia were Dabney Cosby, Sr., Malcolm F Crawford, and William B Phillips. They in turn influenced other builders in the Jeffersonian idiom, including Branch Ellington, William A Howard, David Meade, and Valentine Parrish. Courthouse still standing  include those in Buckingham County and Charlotte County designed by Jefferson and those in Caroline CountyClarke CountyCumberland CountyGoochland CountyGreene CountyLunenburg CountyMadison County, Mecklenburg County, Nottoway CountyPage County, Rappahannock County and Sussex County.


See:  The 10th Judicial Circuit includes Appomattox County, Buckingham CountyCharlotte CountyCumberland CountyHalifax CountyLunenburg County and Prince Edward County.




County Courthouse – Boydton























Photos taken 2013