Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Virginia » Prince Edward County

Prince Edward County

Prince Edward County is named for Prince Edward Augustus, Duke of York and Albany, who was the younger brother of King George II of Great Britain and who lived from 1739 to 1767.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Buckingham County and Cumberland County

E – Amelia County and Nottoway County

S – Lunenburg County and Charlotte County

W – Appomattox County


Created:  February 27, 1751                  Map of Virginia highlighting Prince Edward County

County Seat: 

Worsham    1754 – 1871

Farmville     1871 – present


County Courthouse – Farmville


Location:  124 North Main Street / High Street

Built:  1939 – 1940

Style:  Colonial Revival

Architect:  Hinnant & Smith

Contractor:  Farmville Manufacturing Company


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Farmville. The northwest front has a large portico in the center supported by four large columns with pediment above. On the center of the flat roof is a high narrow white colored cupola with green colored dome. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County General District Court and County Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court of the 10th Judicial Circuit. On the southeast side is the modern four story red colored brick and concrete addition at 111 South Street constructed from 1997 to 1999. The architect was Faubert Architects and the contractor was Kenbridge Construction Company Inc.


See:  The 10th Judicial Circuit includes Appomattox County, Buckingham CountyCharlotte CountyCumberland CountyHalifax County, Lunenburg County and Mecklenburg County 


Note:  The Old Clerk’s Office built by Guthrey and Thackston in 1855 is located at 6383 Farmville Road to the south along Highway 15 at Worsham site of the first county seat.


History:  The county was created in 1752 and Worsham was selected as the county seat in 1754.  The first courthouse was built in 1832. The Clerk’s Office was built in 1855. The county seat was moved to Farmville in 1871. The second courthouse was a two story red colored brick structure built in 1872. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1939 to 1940.



County Courthouse – Farmville  











County Courthouse Addition – Farmville









Photos taken 2013