Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Virginia » Southampton County

Southampton County

Southampton County is named for Henry Wriothesley, who was the third Earl of Southampton and treasurer of the London Company.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Surry County and Isle of Wight County

E – Isle of Wight County and Suffolk

S – Hertford County, North Carolina and Northampton County, North Carolina

W – Greensville County and Sussex County

Surrounds Independent City – Franklin


Created:  April 30, 1749                          Map of Virginia highlighting Southampton County

County Seat: 

Jerusalem  1749 – 1888

Courtland   1888 – present


County Courthouse – Courtland   


Location:  22350 Main Street / Court Street

Built:  1834 – 1835

Style:  Roman Revival

Architect:  Jeremiah Cobb and Clements Rochelle

Contractor:  Jeremiah Cobb and Clements Rochelle


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Courtland. The east front has a large porch with four white colored columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The recessed entrance is framed with white colored wood. On the center of the roof is a small white colored octagonal cupola. In the interior, there is a courtroom on the first story and on the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County General District Court and County Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court of the 5th Judicial Circuit. An addition was constructed in 1924 to 1925. On the south side is a two story office addition constructed in 1960. The architect was Shriver and Holland and the contractor was Silas S Kea and Sons.


See:  The 5th Judicial Circuit includes Franklin Isle of Wight County and Suffolk.


History:  The county was created in 1749 and Jerusalem was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1752 on the east bank of the Nottoway River where the present courthouse now stands. The second and present courthouse was built in 1834 to 1835. In 1888, the name of the county seat was changed to Courtland.


See:  Within the county is the independent city of Franklin.


County Courthouse – Courtland



















Photos taken 2013