Skip to content
Home » US States » N » North Carolina » Clay County

Clay County

Clay County is named for Henry Clay, who was a statesman and orator who represented Kentucky in both the House of Representatives and Senate.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Cherokee County and Macon County

E – Macon County

S – Towns County, Georgia and Union County, Georgia

W – Cherokee County


Created:  February 20, 1861                  Map of North Carolina highlighting Clay County

County Seat: 

Hayesville  1861 – present


County Courthouse – Hayesville  


Location:  25 Herbert Street / Sanderson Street

Built:  1888 – 1889

Style:  Italianate

Architect:  William Gould Bulgin

Contractor:  Captain J S Anderson.


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story red colored brick and wood structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds of the Public Square in the center of Hayesville. The southwest front has a square brick tower with arched entrance on the first story with three window fanlight. On the second story is a vertical arched window and at the top is a white colored wood cupola with hipped roof. The windows are arched and the roof is hipped. The building is named as the Beal Center.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Clay County Courthouse


County Government Center – Hayesville  



Location:  Courthouse Drive / Highway 64

Built:  2006 – 2007

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Pease Associates

Contractor:  Wells & West Inc.


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds to the west of the center of Hayesville. The southeast front has a semi-circular section with vertical dividers between the windows. The north and south wings are one story. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Superior Court and County District Court of the 30th Judicial District. 


See:  The 30th Judicial District includes Cherokee County, Graham CountyHaywood County, Jackson County Macon County and Swain County.


History:  The county was created in 1861 and Hayesville was selected as the county seat. The first courts met in the Methodist Church near Fort Hembree. The first courthouse was built and later burned in 1870. A makeshift structure was the second courthouse and in 1885, the county rented space in the Masonic Hall. Court was held in the Presbyterian Church from 1887 to 1889. The third courthouse was designed by William Gould Bulgin using his plans for the 1881 Macon County courthouse and built at a cost of $7.240. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 2006 to 2007.



County Courthouse – Hayesville











County Government Center – Hayesville











Photos taken 2012