Skip to content
Home » US States » N » North Carolina » Cumberland County

Cumberland County

Cumberland County is named for Prince William, Duke of Cumberland, who was a military leader and son of George II of Great Britain.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Harnett County

E – Sampson County 

S – Bladen County

W – Robeson County, Hoke County and Moore County


Created:  February 19, 1754                  Map of North Carolina highlighting Cumberland County

County Seat: 

Linden             1754 – 1778

Campbellton    1778 – 1783

Fayetteville      1783 – present


County Courthouse – Fayetteville


Location:  117 Dick street / East Franklin Street

Built:  1977 – 1978

Style:  Modern

Architect:  MacMillan & MacMillan

Contractor:  Tandy Construction Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a five story concrete and glass style structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Fayetteville. The west front has a two story concrete projecting section with entrance on the first story. The building has double windows on all sides. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Superior Court and County District Court of the 12th Judicial District.  Renovation was done in 2012. The architect was Gordon John Architecture and the contractor was Graham Construction.


Old County Courthouse – Fayetteville  



Location:  130 Gillespie Street / East Franklin Street

Built:  1923 – 1924

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Harry Barton

Contractor:  William P Rose


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Fayetteville to the west of the courthouse. The east front has a projecting center section with entrance on the first story and four columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story. A balustrade runs along the flat roof line. The building now houses offices.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Cumberland County Courthouse


History:  The county was created in 1754 and Linden was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was erected in 1754. The county seat was moved to Campbellton in 1778 and the second courthouse was built. The county seat merged with Fayetteville in 1783. The third courthouse was built in 1790. The fourth courthouse was designed by Elliott Brothers and built in 1893. The fifth courthouse was constructed in 1923 and is still standing. The sixth and present courthouse was constructed in 1977 to 1978.



County Courthouse – Fayetteville









Old County Courthouse – Fayetteville











Photos taken 2014