Skip to content
Home » US States » N » North Carolina » Surry County

Surry County

Surry County is named for Surrey County in England, which was the birthplace of Governor William Tyron.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Grayson County, Virginia and Carroll County, Virginia

E – Stokes County 

S – Yadkin County and Wilkes County

W – Wilkes County and Alleghany County


Created:  April 14, 1771                         Map of North Carolina highlighting Surry County

County Seat: 

Richmond  1771 – 1792

Rockford    1792 – 1853

Dobson      1853 – present


County Courthouse – Dobson


Location:  114 West Aikins Street / North Main Street

Built:  1916 – 1917

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Harry Baton and Raleigh James Hughes

Contractor:  Longest & Tessier Company out of Greensboro


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Dobson. The north front has a projecting center section with entrance on the first story. A wide band runs below the flat roof line. There are lower east and west wings. In the interior, the first story has a central hallway. There are two courtrooms located on the second story. Two story additions were constructed in 1971 on the east and west side.



County Justice Center – Dobson



Location:  201 East Kapp Street / North Main Street

Built:  2000 – 2002

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Martin, Boal, Anthony & Johnson

Contractor:  John S Clark Company, Inc.


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story buff and red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Dobson. The south front projects from the main building and id buff brick with a high vertical window on the second and third stories. The southwest and southeast corners are red colored brick. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Superior Court and County District Court of the 17th Judicial District. 


Old County Courthouse – Rockford



Location:  Old Rockford road / Willow Bend  Way

Built:  1830

Style:  Federal

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick structure. The  building is located on landscaped grounds in Rockford, The square shaped building has a hipped roof. The building sits on a low hill and is a private residence. The building served as the courthouse until 1853 when the county seat was moved to Dobson.


See:  The 17th Judicial District includes Caswell County, Rockingham County and Stokes County.


History:  The county was created in 1771 and Richmond was selected as the county seat. The court first met in a house on the farm of Gidion Wright. The first courthouse was built on the farm of Colonel Martin Armstrong and William Sheppard near Richmond in 1774. Richmond officially became the county seat in 1779. The county seat was moved to Rockford in 1792 when the county was divided. The second courthouse was built in 1830 and is still standing. The county seat was moved to Dobson in 1853. The third courthouse was built in 1855. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1916 to 1917. The County Justice Center was constructed in 2000 to 2002.



County Courthouse – Dobson

















County Office – Dobson







Old County Courthouse – Rockford





Photos taken 2012