Skip to content
Home » US States » N » North Carolina » Yadkin County

Yadkin County

Yadkin County is named for the Yadkin River which flows through North Carolina.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Surry County

E – Forsyth County 

S – Davie County and Iredell County

W – Wilkes County


Created:  1850                                        Map of North Carolina highlighting Yadkin County

County Seat: 

Dowelton    1850 – 1852

Yadkinville  1852 – present


County Courthouse – Yadkinville  


Location:  101 South State street / East Main Street


Built:  1958 – 1959

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Stinson-Arey-Hall

Contractor:  West Building Mechanical Contractors Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Yadkinville. The east section is two stories with buff colored brick on the first story. On the south side is a one story section extending west. The main entrance is at the junction of the two sections. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Superior Court and County District Court of the 23rd Judicial District. During construction, the construction engineer was L A Chamblee.


See:  The 23rd Judicial District includes Alleghany County, Ashe County and Wilkes County.


History:  The county was created in 1850 and Dowelton was selected as the county seat. The first courts were held at Dowelton. The county seat was moved to Yadkinville in 1852. The first courthouse was a two story brick structure erected by William White of Hamptonville at Yadkinville in 1853 to 1855. The building was renovated in 1901 by B F Smith Fireproof Corporation Company and was demolished in 1958. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1958 to 1959.



County Courthouse – Yadkinville









Photos taken 2012