Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Ohio » Jackson County

Jackson County

Jackson County is named for Andrew Jackson, who was the 7th President of the United States from 1829 to 1837.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Vinton County 

E – Vinton County and Gallia County 

S – Gallia CountyLawrence County and Scioto County 

W – Scioto CountyPike County and Ross County


Created:  March 1, 1816                         Map of Ohio highlighting Jackson County

County Seat:

Jackson  1816 – present


County Courthouse – Jackson


Location:  226 East Main Street / Broadway Street

Built:  1867 – 1868

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  R C Saunders

Contractor:  R C Saunders


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The southwest front has a large portico with a square brick pillar at each corner and two columns in the center and rising to flat roof. Behind, the building rises to a peak with square cupola with clock and steep roof. The roof is sloped. The building was rebuilt in 1951 to 1952 following a fire. The architect was C M Donaldson & Associates and the contractor was Don King Building Supplies.


Note:  The cost of construction of the courthouse was $30,000. On January 17, 1951 fire broke out in the electrical circuits.  The top floor burned, but the fire was put out and court records were saved by volunteers who carried them out.


See:  Ohio Court of Appeals – Chillicothe ( 4th Appellate District )



County Courthouse – Jackson













Photos taken 2011 and 2018