Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Ohio » Lawrence County

Lawrence County

Lawrence County is named for James Lawrence, who was a naval hero during the War of 1812.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Jackson County

E –  Gallia County

S – Cabell County, West Virginia and Wayne County, West Virginia

W – Boyd County, Kentucky, Greenup County, Kentucky and Scioto County


Created:  December 21, 1815                Map of Ohio highlighting Lawrence County

County Seat: 

Burlington  1815 – 1851

Ironton      1851 – present


County Courthouse –  Ironton 


Location:  111 South 4th Street / Center Street

Built:  1907 – 1908

Style:  Greek Revival and Beaux Arts

Architect:  Richards McCarty and Bulford

Contractor:  J H G Unkeffr and Company


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a three story brown colored cut stone and concrete structure. The building stands on a hill in the center of Ironton facing the downtown and the Ohio River. The south front has three rectangular openings on the first story with small pediments above. Four columns rise from the second story to a wide pediment at the top of the third story. On the center of the roof is a large dome with green colored roof. The interior has stone floors and walls, high wooden doors with glass windows and sweeping staircases with iron railings topped by wood. 


See:  Ohio Court of Appeals – Chillicothe ( 4th Appellate District )


County Government Center –  Ironton 



Location:  110 South 5th Street / Center Street

Built:  1973 – 1974

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Robert Dalton

Contractor:  Adkins Construction Company


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a four story concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Ironton on the northeast side of the courthouse. The north front has an overhang with recessed first story. The second to fourth stories have glass panels. There are no windows on the east and west sides. The roof line is flat. The building contains two courtrooms. The building houses the County Court of Common Pleas.


History:  The county was created in 1815 and Burlington was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1817 to 1818. In 1851, the county seat was moved to Ironton and the second courthouse, a two story structure, was built in 1853. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1907 to 1908 at a cost of $150,000. The County Government Center was constructed in 1973 to 1974 at a cost of $2,500,000.



County Courthouse – Ironton

















Blast Furnace on courthouse grounds





Photos taken 2012