Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Ohio » Washington County

Washington County

Washington County is named for George Washington, who was the first President of the United States from 1789 to 1797.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Morgan CountyNoble County and Monroe County

E – Tyler County, West Virginia and Pleasants County, West Virginia

S – Wood County, West Virginia

W – Athens County and Morgan County


Created:  July 27, 1788                          Map of Ohio highlighting Washington County

County Seat:

Marietta  1788 – present


County Courthouse – Marietta 


Location:  205 Putnam Street / Second Street

Built:  1901 – 1902

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  Samuel Hannaford and Sons

Contractor:  W H Ellis & Company


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a three story buff colored limestone structure. The south corner has a high eight story clock tower with open cupola with black colored dome at the top. On the southeast and southwest sides are projecting sections with four columns rising to pediments at the roof line. The interior also includes marble facings on the third floor walls.


Note:  The architect, Samuel Hannaford and Sons, also designed courthouses in Greene County and Monroe County.


See:  Ohio Court of Appeals – Chillicothe ( 4th Appellate District  )


Note:  Marietta is the oldest town in Ohio being settled in 1788 and Loibson in

is the second oldest town/



County Courthouse – Marietta













Photos taken 2011