Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Le Flore County

Le Flore County

Le Flore County is named for the Le Flore family, who were a Choctaw Native American family of French descent.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Sequoyah County

E – Sebastian County, Arkansas, Scott County, Arkansas and Polk County, Arkansas

S – McCurtain County

W – Pushmataha CountyLatimer County and Haskell County


Created:  November 16, 1907                Map of Oklahoma highlighting Le Flore County

County Seat:

Poteau  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Poteau 


Location:  100 South Broadway Street / Beard Avenue

Built:  1926 – 1927

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  T E Bassham and Carnell Wheeler

Contractor:  W R Grimshaw Construction Company


Description: The building faces east and is a three story yellow colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Poteau. The second story and third story have high windows. The central entrance is framed with stone. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County District Court of the 16th Judicial District. An addition was added on the west side in 2006. The architect was Architects in Partnership of Norman and the contractor was Cavanal Constructors, Inc. of Poteau and Ken Breeding Construction.


See:  National register of Historic Places – Le Flore County Courthouse


See:  The 16th Judicial District includes Haskell County and Latimer County.


History:  The county was created in 1907 and Poteau was selected as the county seat. The county used rented premises until the first and present courthouse was constructed in 1926 to 1927.



County Courthouse – Poteau











Photos taken 2010