Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Pennsylvania » Fayette County

Fayette County

Fayette County is named for Gilbert du Motier, Marquis de La Fayette, who was a French general and politician and who fought in the American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Westmoreland County

E – Somerset County

S – Garrett County, Maryland and Alleghany County, Maryland

W – Greene County and Washington County


Created:  September 26, 1783               Map of Pennsylvania highlighting Fayette County

County Seat:

Uniontown  1783 – present


County Courthouse – Uniontown  


Location:  61 East Main Street / Court Street

Built:  1890 – 1892

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  E M Butz & William Kauffman

Contractor:  Laughead, Modiset & Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story rough stone structure. The building is located in the center of Uniontown. The west front has a high square stone clock tower with steep roof at the top. There are towers on the northwest and southwest corners. On the south, west and north sides there is a gable roof line. The roof is hipped. In the interior, murals adorn the wall on the first story. The courtroom has a stained glass dome. In the lobby is an eight-foot wooden statue of La Fayette, carved in 1847 by David Blythe. On the north side is the stone County Jail built in 1890 to 1892 with a connecting bridge on the second story.


County Building – Uniontown  



Location:  61 East Main Street / Moran Lane

Built:  1927 – 1928

Style:  Moorish

Architect:  Emil R Johnson and Clarence F Wilson

Contractor:  Engston & Wynn.


Description:  The building faces south and is a four story buff stone and concrete structure. The building located in the center of Uniontown and is attached to the courthouse on the west side. The roof line is flat.


History:  The county was created in 1783 and Uniontown was selected as the county seat, The court first met in the schoolhouse. The first courthouse was erected in 1784. The second courthouse was built in 1796 by Dennis Springer for a cost of $1,363. The courthouse burned in 1845 and the court moved to the Presbyterian Church. The third courthouse was built by Samuel Bryan, Jr., of Harrisburg in 1846 to 1847 at a cost of $16,000. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1890 to 1892.



County Courthouse – Uniontown















Statue of La Fayette



County Jail – Uniontown





County Building – Uniontown







Photos taken 2011