Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Tennessee » Chester County

Chester County

Chester County is named for Robert I Chester, who was a state legislator for the State of Tennessee.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Madison County and Henderson County

E – Henderson CountyHardin County and McNairy County

S – McNairy County

W – Hardeman County and Madison County

Created:  March 1, 1897                         Map of Tennessee highlighting Chester County

County Seat: 

Henderson  1897 – present


County Courthouse – Henderson 


Location:  133 East Main Street / Crook Avenue

Built:  1913 – 1914

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  H T McGee

Contractor:  O’Dare & Roberts


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city.The south front has a large portico supported by four columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. There is a balcony on the second story above the main entrance. On the center of the roof is a square wood cupola with red colored dome. The roof is hipped. An addition was built on the northwest side in 1955.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Chester County Courthouse


See:  The 26th Judicial District includes Henderson County and Madison County.


History:  Wisdom County was created March 19, 1875 but was not organized. Chester County was created March 4, 1879 using the same boundaries and Henderson was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was the home of Dr. J A Crook from 1883 to 1891 when it was destroyed by fire. The second courthouse was constructed in 1891 and burned in 1910. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1913 to 1914.



County Courthouse – Henderson











Photos taken 2012