Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Tennessee » Dyer County

Dyer County

Dyer County is named for Robert Henry Dyer, who was a state legislator for the State of Tennessee.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Lake County and Obion County

E – Gibson County and Crockett County

S – Lauderdale County

W – Pemiscot County, Missouri and Mississippi County, Arkansas


Created:  October 16, 1823                    Map of Tennessee highlighting Dyer County

County Seat: 

Stokes        1823 – 1826

Dyersburg  1826 – present


County Courthouse – Dyersburg  


Location:  101 West Court Street / Main Street

Built:  1911 – 1912

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Asa Biggs

Contractor:  Asa Biggs and local trades


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story brown-red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of the Courthouse Square in the center of Dyersburg. The north front has a large porch with four high white colored Ionic columns supporting a wide header at the roof line. On the center of the roof is a large white colored dome. The Chancery Court courtroom is located on the first story and the Circuit Court courtroom is located on the west side of the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County Chancery Court, County General Sessions Court and County Juvenile Court of the 29th Judicial District. The building was renovated in 1969 and 1988. The County Administration is located in an old building on the south side of Courthouse Square.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Dyersburg Courthouse Square Historic District


See:  The 29th Judicial District includes Lake County.


History:  The county was created in 1823 and Stokes was selected as the county seat. The court first met at the home of John Warren’s home at Stokes. The second courthouse was the home of Elias Dement in Dyersburg in 1826. In 1827 the third courthouse was built on Courthouse Square by Henderson Clark and Austin Parish. The fourth courthouse including the recorder’s office was built between 1834 and 1836. In 1855, the fifth courthouse was built and the sixth courthouse was the rebuilt 1867 courthouse after the previous courthouse was destroyed by fire. The seventh and present courthouse was constructed in 1911 to 1912.



County Courthouse – Dyersburg 











































County Administration Building – Dyersburg 

Photos taken 2011 and 2018