Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Tennessee » Crockett County

Crockett County

Crockett County is named for David Crockett, who was a legendary frontiersman and who died at the Battle of the Alamo.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Dyer County and Gibson County

E – Gibson County and Madison County

S – Madison County and Haywood County

W – Lauderdale County and Dyer County


Created:  November 23, 1871                Map of Tennessee highlighting Crockett County

County Seat: 

Cageville  1871 – 1872

Alamo      1871 – present


County Courthouse – Alamo  


Location:  1 South Bells Street / Main Street

Built:  1873 – 1874

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  John Archer of Brownsville

Contractor:  E R Crandell of Brownsville


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story cream colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Alamo. The south front has a central entrance and arched windows on the first and second stories. The roof line if flat. In the interior, there are wooden stairs ascending to the second story where the courtroom is located. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County Chancery Court, County General Sessions Court and County Juvenile Court of the 28th Judicial District. The building was remodeled in 1934 and an addition was added on the north side in 1968.


See:  The 28th Judicial District includes Gibson County and Haywood County.


History:  The county was created in 1871 and Cageville was selected as the county seat. In 1872, the county seat was moved to Alamo. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1873 to 1874 at a cost of $21,000.



County Courthouse – Alamo 















Photos taken 2011 and 2018