Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Tennessee » Haywood County

Haywood County

Haywood County is named for John Haywood, who was a judge and the father of “Tennessee History”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Lauderdale County and Crockett County

E – Madison County

S – Hardeman County and Fayette County

W – Tipton County and Lauderdale County


Created:  November 3, 1823                  Map of Tennessee highlighting Haywood County

County Seat: 

Brownsville  1823 – present


County Courthouse – Brownsville  


Location:  1 North Washington Avenue / Main Street

Built:  1884 – 1885

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  R A Heavnor of Jackson

Contractor:  J A Moore


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Public Square in the center of Brownsville. The east front has a large porch with six high columns rising to a wide header at the roof line. The windows are vertical. The roof line is flat. In the interior there are wooden stairs ascending to the courtroom which is located at the center of the second story. The building was renovated in 1990.


County Justice Complex – Brownsville  



Location:  100 South Dupree Avenue / East Main Street

Built:  Unknown

Style:  Modern Commercial

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces west and is is a one story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located at a former Walmart on the eastern edge of Brownsville. The west front has a semi-circular entrance with concrete columns, red colored brick and recessed glass windows. In the interior is a large lobby with the courtrooms located along the north side. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County Chancery Court, County General Sessions Court and County Juvenile Court of the 28th Judicial District. The building is named as the Allen G King Justice Center. The building was converted in 2010 from a Walmart store. The architect was SpiritArchitecture Group LCC and the contractor was Henson Construction Services Inc.


See:  The 28th Judicial District includes Crockett County and Gibson County.


History:  The county was created in 1823 and Brownsville was selected as the county seat. The county court met in the home of Richard Nixon, the first settler in the area, until 1825, when the first log courthouse was completed. A second courthouse was built in 1826. The third courthouse was constructed in 1844 to 1845. In 1868, a west wing was added to accommodate the convening of the Supreme Court for West Tennessee. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1928 and 1929. In 2010, the courts moved to the County Justice Complex.



County Courthouse – Brownsville









































County Justice Complex

























County Criminal Justice Center







Photos taken 2011 and 2018