Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Tennessee » Grainger County

Grainger County

Grainger County is named for Mary Grainger Blount, who was the wife of William Blount and the “first lady” of the Southwest Territory, later Tennessee.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Claiborne County and Hancock County

E – Hawkins CountyHamblen County and Jefferson County

S – Jefferson County and Knox County

W – Knox County and Union County


Created:  April 22, 1796                          Map of Tennessee highlighting Grainger County

County Seat: 

Mitchell Springs  1796 – 1801

Rutledge             1801 – present


County Courthouse – Rutledge


Location:  8095 Rutledge Pike / Marshall Avenue

Built:  1948 – 1949

Style:  Art Deco and Moderne

Architect:  Bauman and Bauman of Knoxville, Will W Griffin and Shi G Goodwyne

Contractor:  Johnson and Willard


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick, glass and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Rutledge. The building is “L” shaped with an east wing. The south front has a projecting center section with vertical concrete dividers with glass panels and entrance between. The main building is recessed. The roof line is flat. To the south is the Old County Jail built in 1845.


See:  The architect,  Baumann & Baumann of Knoxville, designed the courthouse in Claiborne County.


County Justice Center – Rutledge



Location:  270 Justice Center Drive / Cambridge Avenue

Built:  2004 – 2005

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Robert Carpenter of Moseley, Wilkins & Wood of Charlotte, North Carolina

Contractor:  Rouse Construction of Knoxville


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a one story dark red colored brick and concrete  structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Rutledge to the northeast of the courthouse. The southwest entrance has a large portico with four white colored columns rising to a wide pediment at the roof line. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County Chancery Court, County General Sessions Court and County Juvenile Court of the 4th Judicial District. 


See:  The 4th Judicial District includes Cocke CountyJefferson County and Sevier County 


History:  The county was created in 1796 and Mitchell Springs was selected as the county seat. In 1801, the county seat was moved to Rutledge and the first courthouse was built in 1801. The second courthouse was a two story structure designed by Wheeler & Runge of Charlotte, North Carolina and constructed by M T Lewman & Company of Louisville, Kentucky in 1904. The courthouse was destroyed by fire on  January 16,1946. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1948 to 1949. The County Justice Center was constructed in 2004 to 2005.


See:  In 1890, the first courthouse built in 1801 was dismantled and the framing timber was used to build the Henderson Chapel AME Zion Church at 143 Church Street and Beets Avenue in Rutledge.




County Courthouse – Rutledge













County Justice Center – Rutledge







Photos taken 2012