Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Tennessee » Hawkins County

Hawkins County

Hawkins County is named for Benjamin Hawkins, who was a United States Senator.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Hancock County and  Scott County, Virginia

E – Sullivan CountyWashington County and Greene County

S – Greene County and Hamblen County

W – Grainger County and Hancock County


Created:  January 6,  1787                     Map of Tennessee highlighting Hawkins County

County Seat: 

Rogersville  1787 – present


County Courthouse – Rogersville  


Location:  100 East Main Street / Depot Street

Built:  1836 – 1837

Style:  Jeffersonian

Architect:  John Dameron

Contractor:  John Dameron


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Rogersville and forms a “T” shape with an east west wing on the south side. The north front has a large porch with four white colored columns rising to a pediment with a tiered cupola above with green colored roof. The roof is sloped. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County Chancery Court, County Criminal Court, County General Sessions Court and County Juvenile Court of the 3rd Judicial District. In 1870, the interior stairs were removed to allow more room in the second story courtroom and a balcony was constructed in the courtroom. In 1929, an addition was constructed on the south side to enlarge the courtroom. The architect was Allen N Dryden and the contractor was E S Glover. In 1999 to 2000, the Mitchell Building, located on the east side, which had been constructed in 1841 was purchased and remodeled as the County Courthouse Annex and includes additional courtrooms. A glass breezeway connects the buildings. The architect was The Moore Group Architects of Kingsport and the contractor was Barker Building Company of Kingsport.


See:  The courthouse is one of six remaining working Antebellum courthouses in Tennessee located in Carter CountyDickson County, Jefferson CountyRutherford County and Williamson County.


See:  The 3rd Judicial District includes Greene County, Hamblen County and Hancock County. 


Note:  The first meeting of the commissioners took place at the home of Thomas Gibbons on Big Creek on June 4, 1787, at which time Joseph Rogers’s land on Crockett’s Creek was selected as the location for the county seat. During the summer of 1787 the courthouse, jail, and stocks were erected, and the little community took the name Hawkins Court House.


History:  In 1787 the county was created as part of North Carolina with Rogersville (Hawkins Court House) as county seat. In 1787, the first courthouse was a log tavern built by Joseph Rogers in Rogersville. Tennessee was created in 1796. The second courthouse was a larger log structure built in 1810. The third and present courthouse was built in 1836 to 1837.



County Courthouse – Rogersville











County Courthouse Annex





Photos taken 2012