Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Dallas County

Dallas County

Dallas County is named for George Mifflin Dallas, who was the eleventh Vice President of the United States.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Denton County and Collin County

E – Rockwall County and Kaufman County

S – Ellis County

W – Tarrant County


Created:  March 30, 1846                       Map of Texas highlighting Dallas County

County Seat: 

Dallas  1846 – present


Old County Courthouse – Dallas  


Location:  100 South Houston Street / Main Street

Built:  1890 – 1892

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  Orlopp and Kusener of Little Rock, Arkansas

Contractor:  Robert L James


Description:  The building faces east and is a four story red colored sandstone and blue granite structure. In the center of the building rises a high square clock tower. The building has round towers on each corner. The building is now the Museum of Dallas History and is known as the “Old Red Courthouse”. The building was restored in 2007. The architect was James Pratt Design and the contractor was Thomas S Byrne General Construction.


See:  The architect,  Maximillan A Orlopp Jr. of New Orleans, Louisiana also designed the courthouse in Missouri in Jasper County.


County Courthouse – Dallas  



Location:  600 Commerce Street / Market Street

Built:  1963 – 1966

Style:  Modern

Architect:  The Associated Architects and Engineers

Contractor:  Granite Construction Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a twelve story concrete, glass and steel structure. The north front of the building has glass walls on each story divided by horizontal concrete dividers. On the south side, the east and west ends are glass and the centre of the building is a solid concrete wall with recessed sections on either side. The building faces north onto the Dallas County Historic Plaza. The building was originally named as the Dallas Government Center and was later named as the George L. Allen Sr. Courts Building and houses the Fifth Court of Appeals,


Note:   The Associated Architects and Engineers comprised the following architects -Thomas D Broad, Donald S Nelson, Jack Corgon & Associates, Arthur E Thomas, Robert O Jamieson, W Ralph Merrill, E Carlyle Smith and Marshall H Warder


See:  The 1st Administrative Judicial Region has a main office in McKinney in Collin County.


Old County Criminal Courthouse – Dallas  



Location:  500 Main Street / South Houston Street

Built:  1911 – 1913

Style:  Commercial

Architect:  H A Overbeck

Contractor:  Grisman and Nesbit


Description:  The building faces south and is an eight story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The first and second stories have buff colored stone facing. The upper stories have red colored brick with stone trim.  The south front has a central stone framed entrance. The windows on the second story are large. The roof line is flat. 


County Criminal Courthouse – Dallas  



Location:  133 North Riverfront Boulevard / Commerce Street

Built:  1982 – 1983

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Coe Design Group Inc. of Dallas

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces east and is a nine story red colored brick, concrete, glass and steel structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds. There is a north and south section with recessed center section which has a large arch and glass walls. The roof line is flat. The building is named as the Frank Crowley Courts Building. On the west side is the Lew Sterrett Justice Center.



Old County Courthouse – Dallas











County Courthouse – Dallas









Old County Criminal Courthouse – Dallas













County Criminal Courthouse – Dallas















Pictures taken 2006, 2009, 2014 and 2017