Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Hunt County

Hunt County

Hunt County is named for Memucan Hunt Jr,. who was a secretary of the navy under the Republic of Texas.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Fannin County

E – Delta CountyHopkins County and Rains County

S – Van Zandt County and Kaufman County

W – Rockwall County and Collin County


Created:  April 11, 1846                          Map of Texas highlighting Hunt County

County Seat: 

Greenville  1846 – present


County Courthouse – Greenville  


Location:  2500 Lee Street / Johnson Street

Built:  1928 – 1929

Style:  Moderne and Classical Revival  / Beaux Arts influence

Architect:  Charles H Page Jr. and Brother of Austin and William  R Ragsdale & Son of Greenville

Contractor:  B W Shepherd, Manco Shepherd and Ben D Shepherd of Greensville


Description:  The building faces north and is a six story ivory terra cotta, buff colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Greenville. The south front has three arches at the first story entrance. Above are eight columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story. The fourth story is a smaller recessed section. The east and west wings extend towards the street and are two story faced with white colored stone. The roof line is flat. Wide steps lead to the second story entrance. In the interior, wide stairs ascend from the second story entrance lobby to the third story where the large courtroom is located on the north side. The courtroom used to extend into the fourth story. The smaller courtroom is located on the south side of the second story. The jail was located on the fifth and sixth stories. The building houses the State District Court, Constitutional County Court and County Court at Law. 


See:  The architect, C H Page and Brother of Austin designed other courthouses in Anderson CountyFort Bend CountyHall CountyHays CountyOrange CountyTravis CountyTrinity County and Williamson County.


History:  The county was created in 1846 and Greenville was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log structure built in 1847. The second courthouse was a frame structure built by Parson Stilwell in 1853. The third courthouse was a brick structure built in 1859. The fourth courthouse was the Methodist Espiscopal Church Building purchased in 1881. The fifth courthouse was designed by Wesley Clarke Dodson and constructed in 1881 and which burned in 1885. The sixth courthouse was also designed by Wesley Clarke Dodson and constructed in 1885. The seventh and present courthouse was constructed at a cost of $400,000.


Fourth County Courthouse – Greenville  



Location:  2610 Lee Street / St. John Street

Built:  Unknown

Style:  Commercial

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story dark red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Greenvillr. The south front has an extended canopy with commercial stores. The second story has vertical windows. The roof line is flat. The building was purchased from the Methodist Espiscopal Church in 1881 after the third courthouse was declared unsafe. The building served as the fourth courthouse until 1883 when the fifth courthouse was completed.



County Courthouse – Greenville  















































Fourth County Courthouse – Greenville  



Photos taken 2010, 2017 and 2019