Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Uvalde County

Uvalde County

Uvalde County is named for Juan de Ugalde, who was the Spanish Governor of Coahuila and a Spanish General who won a battle against 300 Apaches in the Sabinal River Canyon on January 9, 1790.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Real County and Bandera County

E – Medina County

S – Zavala County 

W – Kinney County


Created:  February  8,  1850                  Map of Texas highlighting Uvalde County

County Seat: 

Uvalde  1856 – present


County Courthouse – Uvalde 


Location:  100 North Getty Street / Main Street

Built:  1927 – 1928

Style:  Texas Renaissance and Classical Revival

Architect:  Henry Truman Phelps of San Antonio

Contractor:  M H Ryland of Uvalde


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a three story buff colored brick and limestone structure.  The building is located on landscaped grounds and has a large portico supported by three wide arches on the first story and four columns on the second and third stories. Above is a pediment with clock at the top. The first story has white colored stone.


See:  The architect Henry Truman Phelps of San Antonio, Texas


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1877. The second and previous courthouse was designed by Benjamin Franklin Trestler and constructed by John Cormack in 1890.


County Courthouse – Uvalde 























Photos taken 2006 and 2017