Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Wise County

Wise County

Wise County is named for Henry Alexander Wise, who was a United States Congressman from Virginia who supported Texas annexation.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Montague County and Cooke County

E – Denton County

S – Tarrant County and Parker County

W – Jack County


Created:  February 1, 1856                    Map of Texas highlighting Wise County

County Seat: 

Decatur  1856 – present


County Courthouse – Decatur  


Location:  101 North Trinity Street / West Walnut Street

Built:  1895 – 1897

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  James Riely Gordon of San Antonio

Contractor:  John A White


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a three story cruciform Texas granite structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. There is terra cotta used in the friezes, turrets and dormers. A square stone clock tower rises on the center of the roof. There is a winding cast iron staircase in the center of the building. The large courtroom is located on the east side of the second story and the small courtroom is located on the third story. The building was remodeled in 1960.


See:  The architect James Riely Gordon of San Antonio, Texas


Note:  The first courthouse was built on the square in 1861 and burned in 1881. The second courthouse was constructed in 1893 at a cost of $50,000 but burned on January 7, 1895. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $110,000. The courthouse is similar to the  cruciform design of the courthouse in Ellis County.



County Courthouse – Decatur  





























































Picture 1861 County Courthouse



Picture 1893 County Courthouse





Photos taken 2006, 2014 and 2019