Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Arkansas » Izard County

Izard County

Izard County is named for George Izard, who was a Governor of the Missouri Territory and a General during the War of 1812.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Fulton County

E – Sharp County

S – Independence County and Stone County

W – Stone County and Baxter County

Created:  October 27, 1825                    Map of Arkansas highlighting Izard County

County Seat:        

Liberty ( Norfolk ) 1825 – 1830

Athens                  1830 – 1836

Mount Olive          1836 – 1846

Mount Vernon       1846 – 1875

Melbourne            1875 – present


County Courthouse – Melbourne


Location:  Courthouse Square / East Main Street

Built:  1939

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Erhart & Eichenbaum of Little Rock

Contractor:  Civilian Conservation Corps ( CCC ) from Camp Sage near Sage


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story gray colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds of Courthouse Square in the center of Melbourne. The north front has a central stone framed entrance on the first story. There are east and west projecting lower wings. The roof line is flat. The building was a National Youth Administration Project. On the west side is the County Courthouse Annex.


See:  The courthouse is similar in design to the courthouse in  Independence County.


See:  The 16th Judicial District includes Cleburne CountyFulton County   Independence County and Stone County.


Note:  The first courthouse was the Jacob Wolf House near Norfork then known as Liberty ( Baxter County ), built by Jacob Wolf in 1829. In 1834 the second courthouse was a frame structure built in Athens. The third courthouse was built at Mount Olive in 1836 and the fourth courthouse was built at Mount Vernon in 1846. In 1875 the county seat was moved to Melbourne and the fifth courthouse was built in 1878, the sixth courthouse built in 1890 and the seventh courthouse was designed by Clyde Ferrell and constructed by L R Wright in 1913. The courthouse burned in 1937 and the eight and present courthouse was constructed in 1939.



County Courthouse – Melbourne



















County Courthouse Annex – Melbourne

Photos taken 2011