Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Arkansas » Stone County

Stone County

Stone County is named for the rock and stone within the county.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Baxter County and Izard County

E – Independence County

S – Cleburne County and Van Buren County

W – Van Buren County and Searcy County


Created:  April 21, 1873                         Map of Arkansas highlighting Stone County

County Seat:        

Mountain View  1873 – present


County Courthouse – Mountain View


Location:  107 West Mail Street / North Peabody Avenue

Built:  1922 – 1923

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Clyde A Ferrell of Little Rock

Contractor:  Bill Laroe


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story course bluff colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds of Courthouse Square in the center of Mountain View. The south front has a central entrance on the first story with a small stone portico. The east and west wings project. The building has a sloped roof with dormer. 


See:  The architect, Clyde A Ferrell of Little Rock also designed courthouses in Cleburne County and Montgomery County.


See:  The 16th Judicial District includes Cleburne CountyFulton CountyIndependence County and Izard County.


Note  The first courthouse was a log structure built in 1873. The second courthouse was a two story frame structure built in 1888. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1923.



County Courthouse – Mountain View











Photos taken 2011