Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » California » San Bernardino County

San Bernardino County

San Bernardino County is named for Saint Bernardino of Siena


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Inyo County

E – Clark County, Nevada, Mohave County, Arizona and La Paz County, Arizona

S – Riverside County and Orange County

W – Los Angeles County and Kern County


Created:  April 26, 1853                                                  Location in the state of California

County Seat: 

San Bernardino  1853 – present


County Courthouse – San Bernardino  


Location:  251 North Arrowhead Avenue / West 3rd Street

Built:  1926 – 1927

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Howard E Jones and DeWitt Mitcham

Contractor:  R W Wescott of Alhambra


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story monotone pink-beige cast stone, stucco and concrete structure. The west front has a central entrance on the first story. On the second and third stories are eight columns dividing the windows and rising to a wide header. At the end of the north and south wings are further columns on the second and third stories. A wing was added on the east side in 1959.


Note: An earthquake in 1923 severely damaged the red Mentone sandstone courthouse constructed in 1893. The architect was Charles H Jones and his nephew Howard E Jones was architect of the presemnt courthouse.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – San Bernadino County Courthouse.


New County Courthouse – San Bernardino  



Location:  303 West 3rd Street / North Arrowhead Avenue

Built:  2012 – 2014

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Skidmore, Owings, Merrill

Contractor:  Rudolph and Sletten


Description:  The building faces north and is an eleven story steel, concrete and glass structure. The building is presently under construction.


See:  The county is located in the 4th Appellate District Court of Appeal – Santa Ana


Other Branch Courthouses


Barstow  /  Redlands  /  Victorville

















Photos taken 2013