Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Virginia » Patrick County

Patrick County

Patrick County is named for Patrick Henry, who was the Governor of Virginia and lived from 1736 to 1799.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Carroll CountyFloyd County and Franklin County

E – Henry County

S – Stokes County, North Carolina and Surry County, North Carolina

W – Carroll County


Created:  June 1, 1791                           Map of Virginia highlighting Patrick County

County Seat: 

Taylorsville   1792 – 1884

Stuart           1884 – present


County Courthouse – Stuart 


Location:  101 West Blue Ridge Street / North Main Street

Built:  1821 – 1822

Style:  Roman Revival or Jeffersonian

Architect:  Abram Staples.

Contractor:  Abram Staples.


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Stuart. There are “central three bay blocks and two flanking wings.” There are four Tuscan columns and a large stairway leading from the ground to the portico. This reflects the “high basements” of the Roman Revival. There is a small bell tower and semi-circular opening in the pediment of the portico. The doorway on the portico probably comes from the 1928 renovation. In the interior, the courtroom occupies the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 21st Judicial Circuit. A vault was added in 1906. In 1928, the Sheriff’s Office and jail were added. Remodeling occurred in 1936 and 1972. In 1982, another renovation began to relocate the General District Court, Juvenile and Domestic Court Relations Court, the Circuit Court Judge’s secretary and to add space for the Patrick County Clerk of Court’s office.


County Administration Building – Stuart 


Location:  106 Rucker Street / Rye Cove Road

Built:  Unkown

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building us located on landscaped grounds in the center of Stuart to the northwest of the courthouse. The building houses the County District Court and County Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court of the 21st Judicial Circuit.


History:  The county was created in 1790 and Taylorsville was selected as the county seat in 1792. The first court was held in the home of Jonathan Hanby.  The first courthouse was built by Charles Vest in 1794. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1821 to 1822. In 1884, the county seat name was changed to Stuart.


See:  The 21st Judicial Circuit includes Henry County and Martinsville.



County Courthouse – Stuart

















Photos taken 2013