Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » West Virginia » Calhoun County

Calhoun County

Calhoun County is named for John C Calhoun, who was the seventh Vice President of the United   States of America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Wirt County and Ritchie County

E – Gilmer County

S – Braxton County and Clay County

W – Roane County


Created:  March 5, 1856                         Map of West Virginia highlighting Calhoun County

County Seat: 

Grantville  1856 – present


County Courthouse – Grantville 


Location:  363 Main Street / Court Street

Built:  1941 – 1942

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Theodore T Sansbury

Contractor:  Philip R Lewis


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a three story rough cut stone Art Deco style structure. The northwest front has a stone porch on the first story with a large center opening and with smaller openings on each side. Behind rises a high stone tower with windows in the center. The roof line is flat. The building was a Works Project Administration project.


See:  The 5th Judicial District includes Jackson County, Mason County and Roane County.


County Courthouse – Grantville 











Photos taken 2012