Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » West Virginia » Clay County

Clay County

Clay County is named for Henry Clay, who was an American statesman, United States Senator and Congressman from Kentucky 1806-1852, U.S. Secretary of State 1825-1829, three times Speaker of the House and three times candidate for president.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Braxton County

E – Nicholas County

S – Fayette County and Kanawha County

W – Kanawha County, Roane County and Calhoun County


Created:  March 29, 1858                       Map of West Virginia highlighting Clay County

County Seat: 

Marshall   1858 – 1863

Henry       1863 – 1927

Clay          1927 – present


Old County Courthouse – Clay


Location:  225 Main Street / Locust Street

Built:  1902 – 1903

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  Frank L Packard

Contractor:  L C Tyree


 Description:  The building faces south and is a two story yellow colored brick and stone structure. The square shapped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Clay and sits on a hill overlooking Main Street. The south front has a projecting center section with central entrance flanked by two columns on either side and with a small peaked roof above. On the second story are arched windows. On the center of the roof is a white colored open cupola with white colored dome. The roof is hipped. The base of the building is rock-face limestone. In the interior, the courtroom has three fireplaces. The building houses the County Magistrate Court. During construction, the superintendent was J W Garcelon.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Old Clay County Courthouse


County Courthouse – Clay



Location:  246 Main Street / Locust Street

Built:  1977 – 1978

Style:  Modern

Architect:  R L Wilson – Jerry Goff, Associated Architects

Contractor:  Carl E Stephens Construction Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a one story light orange colored brick , concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Clay. The north front has a large porch with wide arches and recessed glass entrance. There are no windows on the east, south or west sides. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 14th Judicial Circuit and Family Court. 


See:  The 14th Judicial District includes Braxton CountyGilmer County and Webster County.


History:  The county was created in 1858 and Marshall was selected as the county seat. The court first met at the home of B W Byrne and at different places in the county. The name of the county seat was changed to Henry in 1863. The first courthouse was a large structure built in 1865. The second courthouse was constructed in 1902 to 1903 and is still standing. The County name was finally changed to Clay in 1927. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1977 to 1978.



Old County Courthouse –  Clay









County Courthouse – Clay









Photos taken 2012