Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » West Virginia » Greenbrier County

Greenbrier County

Greenbrier County is named for the Greenbrier River which flows through the county.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Webster County and Pocahontas County

E – Bath County, Virginia and Alleghany County, Virginia  

S – Monroe County and Summers County

W – Fayette County and Nicholas County


Created:  October 20, 1777                    Map of West Virginia highlighting Greenbrier County

County Seat: 

Lewisburg  1782 – present


County Courthouse – Lewisburg 


Location:  200 North Court Street / Randolph Street

Built:  1837 – 1838

Style:  Colonial

Architect:  John W Dunn

Contractor:  John W Dunn


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story red colored brick structure. The building is located in the center of Lewisburg. The original building stands in the center with north and south two story wings built in 1937 and 1963. The west front has a large portico supported by four large white colored columns. In the center of the building is a white colored cupola with open arches and silver colored roof. The building descends east down a slope with the basement being at ground level. In the interior is a mezzanine between the first and second stories. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 1ith Judicial Circuit, County Magistrate Court and Family Court. In 1937 to 1938 a wing was constructed on the north side. The architect was John Harper and David Spotts.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Greenbrier County Courthouse


Note:  The courthouse is the oldest courthouse in West Virginia which is still in use.


See:  The 11th Judicial District include Pocahontas County.


History:  The county was created in 1777 and Lewisburg was selected as the county seat in 1778. The first county clerk’s office was built on the Stuart Manor property and the court met in the home of Colonel John Stuart and before 1800, the courthouses were log cabins. The first courthouse was a log structure was built in 1782 facing Washington Street. In 1800, Colonel John Stuart gifted to the County the second courthouse which was a three story brick structure. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1837 to 1838 at a cost of $10,000.



County Courthouse – Lewisburg

















North Wing – Magistrate Court

Photos taken 2012