Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Virginia » Alleghany County

Alleghany County

Alleghany County is named for Lenape Native American word meaning “fine river”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Bath County

E – Rockbridge County and Botetourt County

S – Craig County and Monroe County, West Virginia

W – Greenbrier County, West Virginia


Created:  June 5, 1822                           Map of Virginia highlighting Alleghany County

County Seat: 

Covington  1822 – present


County Courthouse – Covington  


Location:  266 West Main Street / North Monroe Street

Built:  1910 – 1911

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  C A Robinson

Contractor:  George Leigh & Brothers


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Cocington. The building is constructed with random-coursed, quarry-faced limestone blocks. The southeast front has a large portico with four Doric columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. There are east and west wings which are lower than the main building. The second story windows are arched. In the interior, central stairs ascend to the second story courtroom. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County General District Court and County Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court of the 25th Judicial Circuit. On the southwest side is the large stone Alleghany County Jail. The building was altered in 1940 and the architect was T J Collins and Son. In 2003, an addition was added to the jail.


See:  The 25th Judicial Circuit includes Augusta County, Bath CountyBotetourt CountyBuena Vista, Clifton Forge, Covington, Craig County, Highland County, Lexington, Rockbridge CountyStaunton and Waynesboro.


History:  The first courthouse was built History:  The county was created in 1822 and Covington was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1822. The second courthouse was constructed by H J Shomo and John Plunkett in 1877. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1910 to 1911.


Note:  Within the county is the former independent city of Clifton Forge and the independent city of Covington.



County Courthouse – Covington















County Jail – Covington

Photos taken 2013